From the sublime to the ridiculous

Just 2 Youtube videos, but both rather wonderful in their own way.

The first one tells the story of how we, nowadays, maintain a level of consistency in our concept of weights and measures with, of all things, the world’s roundest object. I really really want to get to hold it, which considering it is literally priceless is never going to happen. I can live with that, even though you can see how excited the guy in the video is. Lucky bugger.

 

I have a much better chance of getting my hands on the subject of the 2nd video, which is a leave me alone box, also known as a useless machine. This is perhaps as close to mechanical whimsy as you could find. There are a lot of videos of leave me alone boxes on Youtube but this is the one I like, it’s not trying too hard. A simple piece of humour executed simply.

Leave a Reply

